Sarah.Wallace85

anyone with lap band having switched to sleeve or gastric bypass?

I'm just starting out in the process for my 2nd wls. I have the band and have had it now for 4 years. I did lose weight but have since gained it back. My doc and I decided to see if my new insurance would cover wls. It does. Now I'm removing the band. I don't know what surgery to get sleeve or bypass. I already feel like a failure because ive failed with the band. I want to make the right decision this time. Any advice is greatly appreciated.

A lady where I work has a lap band and she has continued to eat right over top of it. I cannot detect any food discipline on her part whatsoever.

She said she was getting it removed and having a VSG done. I have my doubts about her success if she does that. Although the seriousness of the VSG restriction may actually sink in on her.

There is another lady at work who also has a lap band, and has eaten right over top of it, and remains obese. She eats all the stuff I eat pre-op, actually more because I have changed my eating habits and lost 44 pounds pre-op.

So I have a low opinion of the effectiveness of the lap band, though I know many have been successful with it.

This summer I changed from the band (installed in 2008) to bypass.  One surgery to take out the band and complete a bypass.  Best thing I ever did!  I am happy to answer any questions.

I chose to go Band to Bypass becuase I'm a sugar addict and I need a real fix for that. Also, I have killer reflux with the band and my surgeon does not recommend the sleeve to anyone with refulx.

My dad passed away from complication of diabetes and morbid obesity so diabetes scares the living daylights out of me and with bypass, my chances of developing diabetes are a lot lower.

Those were my reason for my choice.

Hi Sarah, l am on the same journey as you and would love to have someone to chat to along the way if you would also like support?