Sign in to follow this  
WorkinProcess

Laser Lipo treatments - effective?

I wanted to ask your opinion of the Laser Lipo treatments now widely offered in our area.  Theoretically, these help shrink fat cells, but more importantly, claim to tighten up skin.

I realize this is not a replacement for plastic surgery to remove excess skin, I'm just looking for something to help before I am actually ready to have surgery.

Thanks you!

Hello MJ,

I have a lot of experience in laser assisted liposuction.

I own a SmartLipo machine and use it regularly in my practice.

I find it to be a significant improvement over traditional liposuction.

The laser melts the fat much gentler than the mechanical trauma of a suction cannula, thus resulting in less bruising, pain and swelling.

And yes, the laser also does tighten the skin.

But this is no where near the amount of skin tightening a typical bariatric patient requires, and laser lipo does nothing for stretch marks.

Liposuction works best on people who have good skin tone but extra fat pockets.

This is opposite of a typical bariatric patient, who has lots of extra loose skin but minimal subcutaneous fat.

Therefore, liposuction is usually not indicated in bariatric patients, and not as effective as skin excision.

Sincerely,

Abhay Gupta, MD