My first informational seminar was Aug. 17.  I finally heard from the Dr.s office today that my insurance approved VSG.  The problem....the insurance wants me to come up with $10,000 before they will cover anything else.   UGH.  I absoluetly do not have that much.  I know there are some loan programs out there, but the issue with that is I am a non-traditional college student.  My husband is the only one working and he makes enough for us to live paycheck to paycheck.   I am in a professional college at 19 credit hours per semester, absolutely no time to moon light at a job.  

Sorry J,

That sounds difficult.  I used fundmydr.com and was approved with a 655 credit score.  APR is a little high, but they had loans up to 6 years.  Sam from fund my doc is the best, he has busted his @$$ for me every step of the way to get everything done.  My checks were actually mailed out today.

His phone # is 626 429 4200

Best of luck

Edited by aspaner

PPS.....You could in theory take out cost of living loans on your student loans and use that towards your surgery.....WInk WInk I didn't say that WInk WInk

Thanks Aspaner.  I am calling now!

What do you mean that want you to "come up with the money",  as in your "out of pocket max"????    If it's that, it means that the hospital will require you co-pay up front, not the insurance company.   I had a $4000 max and when I checked into the hospital, I gave them a check for $1000 and then they billed me for the rest. It took about 8 weeks to get the first bill.

In my case ( I have a PPO)   everyone else accepted what United paid and I am now making monthly payments to the hospital.

KarensTurn

This is the info I received from the office.

I have a $300 deductible and $10000 maximum out of pocket expense.   Essentially, I would be obligated to  $10000 to pay before they would start paying.

I read that as 10000 I have to pay in order to get the procedure.

Thanks for thinking this through with me.