ARN2

Any Nurses Out There?

I'm a nurse planning to go back to my job on a very physically demanding floor. I just fear not getting breaks and/or getting my fluids. Not to mention possible dumping! Any good advice to mentally prep me for returning to work?

Im in the same situation. My surgeon is not releasing me till after six weeks out for the weight lifting part. I plan on keeping water with me at all times and hopefully I will be able to steal enough time to eat slowly (I may be hiding in the rest room to do this : ) ). It is sad that we often do not have the time to take our breaks or eat properly. Wishing you the best of luck!

Nurse here but gladly after 25 years, I finally have one of those "office" jobs. Talk with your manager/charge nurse about the need to hydrate, have breaks, etc. IF you've shared your surgery with folks at work.

Good luck!

Nancy

I suffer with dehydration at work....with so much to do, it's hard to get enough fluid in. We hardly get breaks and lunches....more like eat and drink on the fly....I eat very little at work..mostly protein drinks and granola bars. Any more food than that and I get sleepy.

I am not a nurse, but and Occupational Therapist which can be physically demanding. I dont think there has been a day in the last 2 months that I have gotten my breaks, or more than a 10 minute lunch. It does make it very hard to stay on track and get what you need. Pretty much having protein bars, almonds, string cheese and little items is about all I can get down before I need to run.