ZMonson

Took the first step today

First off let me introduce myself, my name's Zack. I'm a 30 y/o occupational therapist with a history of obesity that goes back 18 years. Well today was the start of my GB journey. I had a group seminar with the unit nurse and a dietician. My first surgical consultation was also scheduled for Sept. 8th. I was told (which I knew previous) that a certain amount of weight is expected to be lost pre-op. The dietician gave us the option today to have our weight recorded so the surgeon in 2 mos time could see if any progress was made on our own. I was disgusted with what I seen. I haven't been able to get on a scale in over 10yrs and today was the first time I had actually seen the #. 590. FIVE HUNDRED AND NINETY POUNDS. I still can't believe it, it sickens me. I dont move around like I weigh that much, I have a full time job and love the outdoors. How could it have gotten to this point? I just wanna lay in bed and cry. We learned ALOT in the 6hrs of classtime we through today. I know this is just the tip of the iceberg and the start of a long road, it's just so discouraging seeing that number. I came home and dumped three 2-liters of Mt. Dew down the drain. And threw a brand new (-2) pack of cigarettes in the trash. I'm ready to make this change, I HAVE to make this change. I want a wife and kids, I want to be able to fly on vacation, I want to ride roller coasters! LOL There's just so much that my weight is limiting me by. Sorry to ramble, I'll be pretty active on here so any and all questions/thoughts are welcomed. Ive done alot of post reading and I really like the sense of a family atmosphere on here. For anyone interested I am going through the process at Henry Ford Hospital in Detroit, MI. My surgeon is Dr. Genaw. Any experiences with him and/or his program are more than welcomed to be shared. Thanks.