mjune

A question for teachers.

Hello, I have my surgery tentatively scheduled for mid June pending a visit with my surgeon in two weeks. I am thankful to have the 8 weeks or so of recovery time before returning to work, but I'm curious about how a few aspects of returning to work will play out. As teachers we are on such a rigid eating and bathroom schedule. I am worried about the possibility of dumping at school or of simply having enough time to eat. I'm wondering how others have dealt with these issues. Also, without getting too graphic, how do bathroom habits change post-surgery? Will this be manageable within the framework of a bell-schedule kind of existence? (I teach high school.)

mjune

Great question. I am an elementary teacher and I am scheduled for RNY on June 15. My schedule is not as rigid as yours in HS, however, it is sometimes really hard for me to get to the restroom too.:eek: Usually right after my 30(really 25 minute) lunch. I am hoping that an aid or coworker will be able to watch my class if I have issues during the day! I am hoping that by the time I go back to work in August that I will have all the eating/drinking bugs worked out!

I plan on having my surgery now over the summer and also teach school. A friend of mine had the surgery two years ago and does the same job I do at the other elementary school in our district. She would eat a small meal at her desk and explained to the students that she had to eat at specific times during the day. As far at the bathroom breaks she had parent volunteers in her room all day. I am lucky and have a teacher across the hall from me that will watch the kids when I have to run to the bathroom.