MeadowBlue

Im just starting this journey. A little scared

Hi everyone. I am just beginning the process of having RNY. My surgeon doesn't like to do gastric sleeve as he feels the studies are providing poor statistics about regain. I am actually not one of those people who has always been heavy. I was thin up till my 20's and probably due to emotional issues I began putting on weight in my 20's, in my 30's I was about 40 pounds overweight and it spiraled from there. I was at my heaviest (250) after my first baby and kept that on till about 6 years ago I got down to 170 through diet and going to the gym 6 days a week. I was sure that took care of it and I'd never go back. How many people say that!? Anyway I am now back up to 252 as of today and feeling pretty hopeless that I could ever do this on my own as my efforts have not been rewarded. I eat fairly healthy, 2 servings of veggies a day, lots of protein, low carbs, dont drink my calories, but I CANT lose weight.

So here I am ready to surrender. I am so scared of this surgery though! I fear the leaks and gross out side effects. Being gassy and having smelly poop for LIFE. I hope those things don't happen to me. But at this point I feel I have literally no choice. I absolutely cannot go on like this. I feel so heavy. I struggle to get in and out of a bath tub. I have achey joints. I hate the way I look in clothes. I want to feel light and free. I want to just feel like a normal person.