Aussie Bear

Checkup today.....dilation tomorrow morning!!!!

Seems my new stoma is taking after my old one and scarring over. Saw my bariatric surgeon at my local hospital this morning for my routine checkup and he booked me in for an endoscopy with dilation for tomorrow. At least this time around we both know not to trust my stoma to stay open. Was really surprised how fast he acted, and that he wasn't going to wait for a barium swallow test (he's only here until Thursday) but I guess with a past history like mine he wasn't going to take any chances.....for that I'm grateful!!!!

I'm not worried about the dilation as I've had one in the past, plus I was half expecting it would be on the cards. Just thought it was worth the mention as they can be needed further out from surgery than the first couple of months. Hoping this doesn't become a regular thing, but I guess only time will tell on that front.

Newbie here for post op complications? What is dialation? 

1 hour ago, Anita62 said:

Newbie here for post op complications? What is dialation? 

A dilation is done during an endoscopy where they use the scope to stretch the opening where the pouch has been joined to the intestine. It can be used to dilate the oesophagus or other parts of the intestine that have narrowed. In my original surgery (32+ years ago) my opening scarred over completely and the resultant pressure caused the staple line to blow out (known as staple line dehiscence)....hence my revision surgery. At least these days surgeon's follow you forever....if you let them anyway.

I'm sorry you have to deal with that Aussie but good that they are acting speedily. 

I admit, I have never known of that happening so far out from surgery.

8 hours ago, cinwa said:

I'm sorry you have to deal with that Aussie but good that they are acting speedily. 

I admit, I have never known of that happening so far out from surgery.