Panniculectomy Insurance Denial

Hi I'm actually new to this site but I had my gastric bypass 4/5/06 I'm having several issues with rashes under my belly and in my belly button and I just went to see a plastic surgeon for a possible panniculectomy and my insurance denied it and this is my first attempt though so I think I will appeal does anybody know any good ways to get my appeal approved any tips that I should use or could use and it research that I can do?

19 hours ago, Gmaof3 said:

Hi I'm actually new to this site but I had my gastric bypass 4/5/06 I'm having several issues with rashes under my belly and in my belly button and I just went to see a plastic surgeon for a possible panniculectomy and my insurance denied it and this is my first attempt though so I think I will appeal does anybody know any good ways to get my appeal approved any tips that I should use or could use and it research that I can do?

I've heard the following helps - document your rashes with photos and dr visits. Does your insurance require that your belly hang down a specific length? If you don't know, find out. The woman who ran the offline support group I was in when I was newly post off had a panniculectomy covered by insurance and she suggested anyone who is interested to keep documenting and appealing. Good Luck!

• 2 years later...

My insurance just denied my request for a panniculectomy.  I am 4 years post op from having the gastric sleeve.  Does anyone have a successful letter they used to get an appeal approved?  I could really use some help!  

8 hours ago, Karlaen said:

My insurance just denied my request for a panniculectomy.  I am 4 years post op from having the gastric sleeve.  Does anyone have a successful letter they used to get an appeal approved?  I could really use some help!