Ellexus

New, Nervous, and Pre Op

Hey Guys!
My name is Ellexus and i am new to Thinner Times.

I have been going back and forth with the idea of bariatric surgery for the past year, and i finally decided to go through with it.

Yesterday i had my initial visit with my surgeon and nutritionist. As long as my pre op testing goes well i should be all set for surgery in a few weeks.

I am anxious, but really excited.

Any tips or advice that you guys have to help with the adjustment process or ease nerves?    

Welcome! Don't be shy about asking for something for nerves. My surgeon gives everyone xanax for the two nights before surgery and the day of. I think you'll be so glad you did this. Put your nervous energy into planning for success (get junk food out of your house, read everything you can on here, make your room a peaceful place to recover, start good habits like taking walks & not drinking with meals & cutting out sugar & carbs...).

I appreciate the advice, i hadn't even thought about making my room a good recovery space.
It certainly needs a good cleaning. 

( also your hedgehog is super cute) 

Welcome to Thinner Times Ellexus!

2 minutes ago, Ellexus said:

I appreciate the advice, i hadn't even thought about making my room a good recovery space.
It certainly needs a good cleaning. 

( also your hedgehog is super cute) 

Thanks!

Hi @Ellexus

Nerves are normal. Everyone has butterflies about surgery, even elective surgery, but let your head rule your heart when it comes to the nerves. Risks of a vertical sleeve are now less than the risks of an elective removal of your gall bladder.