Rager2Sharp

Sleeve Surgery, Recovery, ... Stairs?

Hi all! I'm new to this process, and am having my first meeting with my surgeon tomorrow 5/16/18. I'm required by my insurance to meet with nutritionist for 6 months and to do a psych eval. like many others so it will be a while before i actually get the surgery. I am in college full time and i wonder if it is realistic to shoot for an early December surgery date.  

My other question is... i live in a two story house where the only bathroom is upstairs. Because of this and the fact that my husband will not be able to take off work to be able to take care of me,  my mother wants me to stay with her wile I am recovering. I would prefer to stay at home if i can, but i don't want to make things harder on myself or anyone else if i don't have to.

Do you think i will be better to stay at home or go to my mother's in order to recover?

I had a RNY but I don't see that there's much difference between us as far as recovery is concerned.

Stairs were no problem - I held on to the banister and took it slowly. 

It's advisable to have someone around for the first day or so.  I didn't need any help with anything but it was good knowing that there was someone else in the house.

25 minutes ago, Rager2Sharp said:

Hi all! I'm new to this process, and am having my first meeting with my surgeon tomorrow 5/16/18. I'm required by my insurance to meet with nutritionist for 6 months and to do a psych eval. like many others so it will be a while before i actually get the surgery. I am in college full time and i wonder if it is realistic to shoot for an early December surgery date.