QuietMissB

New to this, and a little lost

Hello!

I am new to this journey, and have been lurking but finally decided to join in the conversations.

I recently started the journey to WLS after years of failed diets, personal trainers, and attempts at losing weight. I've had initial appointments with doctors and dietitians, have my psych eval scheduled, and am ready to run down this path to hopefully having surgery at the end of the year.

I am struggling, though, in choosing which type of surgery to go with. Although my PCP has admitted that surgery is likely my only option at this point to reach the meaningful weight loss that I need, she is not a huge fan of it. She states her reasons mainly as the vitamin deficiencies and rates of things like osteoporosis in the longterm for RNY patients, and the lack of long term data for VSG on these issues. The PA at the weight management clinic that I am working with, along with the Dr. who will likely be my surgeon, have said that VSG is the only surgery they prefer to do because of the ease of it and fewer complications after, and most of the family/friends that have done either RNY or VSG have said to go with RNY. All of this is to say that I feel so lost.

I am a numbers person, and I can find 5-, 10-, 15- year and beyond data for RNY outcomes and complications, but with VSG a much newer standalone procedure, that data isn't available. All of this to say, I am struggling and a little scared of making the decision. I feel very pressured to make a decision now, and I feel like I am being kind of forced down a road by the clinic without feeling stable in any decision I make.

Any advice?

Welcome! I think the type of surgery you get is far less important than sticking to the program. You really can be successful with either one. You'll arrive at your own decision for your own reasons. I have murderous monthly cramps, so being able to take NSAIDs was key for me in choosing the sleeve.