Artsynursingstudent

Self-Pay or wait for graduation and (possible) insurance?

So, I’m new here, and I thought about posting this in the intro forum, but it is somewhat financial, so I thought I’d post it here. 

As a brief intro, I’m 27 and have been overweight if not obese since I was ten years old, around the time puberty really ramped up. I have Polycystic Ovary Syndrome (PCOS). I developed hypertension about two years ago, so its time to do something about my health. 

Problem is, right now I don’t have coverage for the surgery. I’m a nursing student and have my school’s student insurance. It’s actually quite good, and our on-campus health center is excellent, but it doesn’t cover bariatric surgery. That’s not surprising, since I was on an ACA Marketplace plan for a while that also did not. I have next summer off, and graduate December 2019. Doing the surgery during summer 2019 (perhaps May or June) would be ideal timing, but it would also mean paying $15,000 out of pocket on top of student loans (the surgery I’m looking into is the sleeve, and one hospital near where I live has that as a very well-priced package). 

I can certainly wait a while until I have a nursing job and potential insurance coverage, but I’m worried about whether I should wait until after I’ve been working for a while. I could develop diabetes in the near future, or excess weight could hinder my getting hired. 

The people I’ve talked to so far, my current primary care doctor and a nursing school professor who is a good source of professional advice, said I would be better off after I had been working a job for about a year (which would mean surgery about 3 years in the future). I’m just curious as to what you all think of this, or if some of you would advise going ahead with it next summer, even if it means lots of debt. Thanks!