meltingmagnolia

Two more days...

My surgery is Monday. I am both excited and terrified thinking about the journey ahead.  I can’t even comprehend the impact this choice might make on, not just me, but my marriage and family.  I know that losing weight and focusing on fitness will thrill my health nut of a hubby. It will also make me a better role model for my two boys. However, I am concerned about the changes it will mean to our lifestyle (my poor husband is already sad about the drop in happy hours and fabulous dinner dates) and the emotional challenges ahead (because when mama ain’t happy...).  I want to focus on the joy, but the nerves are getting to me!

The fab dinner dates can resume after a few months! You will be eating differently, perhaps sharing some of your hubby's plate. But the food part of the date is such a small part of the actual being together :-) 

I'm a newbie yet but many things are becoming apparent to me. Yes eating has changed, but I'm still eating. Even at only a month out, I've gone out twice to restaurants with my buddies for lunch and found things to eat- soup, and soft chicken. It felt different to me than times before, yes. But I was still me, with my buddies, having lunch, like always. 

I'm a teetotaler so someone else will have to comment on the happy hour part :-)

Best wishes to you my friend for an easy surgery experience and a good recovery! Mine was cake, pretty much.

7 minutes ago, Michael_A said:

The fab dinner dates can resume after a few months! You will be eating differently, perhaps sharing some of your hubby's plate. But the food part of the date is such a small part of the actual being together :-)