Hi. I'm a newbie and just starting the process. I will be going to the bariatric doctor to start my 6 month supervised weight loss in a couple of weeks. I'm sure this has been asked and answered before but I can't find it. What do you eat the first week after gastric bypass? I believe it's just liquids so do you pretty much drink protein shakes? I'm sure I'll get info from the doctor and the surgeon, but I'd like to have some idea now. (Impatient) Thanks.

I was given soup, yoghurt, fruche, and weetbix with milk in the hospital. I tended to stick with this my first week at home but also included puréed vegetables and protien shakes.

I could have thicker liquids when I went home; strained cream soups, thinned yogurt.  

Each program is different..

I was on a clear liquid diet for a week (I'll be 10 years post-RNY in September) but that doesn't seem too common these days.

Clear broth/bouillon, apple or grape juice (diluted 50:50 with water), herbal tea (decaf).

I was on clear liquids for a week but there was a clear protein drink, Isopure, that I was supposed to be drinking every day. I know it sounds difficult, but food was really not tempting at all then. I was staying in a hotel that week and went to the hotel buffet breakfast - a big, beautiful Mexican breakfast buffet full of things I would have LOVED the week before that - and was happy to sit at a table drinking herbal tea with my husband while he was going back for seconds. 

Good luck in your supervised weight loss period - I hope the motivation of having WLS at the end of that time helps you with your progress during that time :) 

7 hours ago, Aussie H said:

I was given soup, yoghurt, fruche, and weetbix with milk in the hospital. I tended to stick with this my first week at home but also included puréed vegetables and protien shakes.