Katiebobbles

Horrible post surgery care that I would like people to be aware of...

So... It took me 5 years to decide on this surgery. 

I work in a hospital, so I found a surgeon I wanted to perform my operation and was added to his patient list at another private hospital. I felt reassured at the consultation and I also had the added bonus of knowing how this doctor interacted with patients and I was happy that I had made the right choice. 

My surgery got cancelled from 5/3/16 to 17/3/16 due to a lack of beds at the first hospital and another space at an alternative hospital was found. I was nervous on the day, but desperately wanted the vsg done. All was good when I arrived and the anaesthetists were brilliant at putting me at ease. They couldn't find my vein, which was nothing new, and said they would find it arterially when I was asleep..which I was very happy with too! 

When I woke up, I was in a lot of pain in my right side, and nowhere near the ports. The recovery team gave me pethadine for the pain and when my blood pressure returned to normal, I was taken to my room. At this point , it was about 1pm and I had not had anything to drink since 7pm the day before. I had no I.v fluids and as I soon started to realise, no I.v painkillers. 

I was told to drink sips of water, which 3 hours post op, I couldn't lake more than a tiny sip every ten minutes. I was finding it hard to talk as my mouth was so dry and I had headaches and by 6pm, trouble hearing too. The pain was unbearable and I requested pain relief. I was given 3 tablets to take. I told the nurse that I couldn't swallow them ( my throat had been damaged during intubation) and she told me that my surgery was elective and for weightloss......and that due to this, that my pain wasn't a priority.