bigjohnson74

Sleeve/Gallbladder removal same time

Hello from MN everyone. Glad I found this site. I was a big time lurker  on here for awhile and now it has gotten real for me. My surgery will be in FEB and I was told my surgeon will remove my gallbladder when he does my sleeve. He also has to biopsy a 5cm benign cyst on left lobe of my liver.  This is my first time for surgery of any kind and being under. I am wondering if anyone out there in Thinner Times has had their gallbladder removed the same time and does it add a lot more pain/recovery time? Call me a wuss but I am afraid of waking up in horror movie pain.  I have 2 weeks out of work and that is all I can do. I am a sales account manager (desk job). I am getting nervous but need to do this for a better life. Thank you for your time. Joshua

Hi Joshua!

First congrats on the surgery! I was sleeved on 12/23/15, I can remember being very nervous and worrying about pain as well.

Everybody is different and each Medical Care team might do things slightly different, but rest assured; modern medicine will do its best to keep you comfortable.

There are medicines to help you relax before and immeadiatly after, aid in prevention of nausea, and help with pain.

I'm leaving out plenty of other meds, but one of the most important things you can do is to communicate how you are feeling to your care team to keep ahead of discomfort.

Welcome to Thinner Times Joshua!

It's not unusual for people to have their gallbladder out at one and the same time as their WLS.  And I wish I'd known that when I had my WLS because my gallbladder started acting up pretty much from the day of my RNY surgery.  Stupid me, I hung it out for months before I had my gallbladder removed.