MissKarina

My road to Gastric Bypass

Hi all.

Im now 6-days post op and for some reason I feel like sharing. It feels good to get my thoughts and feelings out on paper!

And boy, have I felt like crap! But it gets better. Slowly, but safely.

This is a MAJOR decision to take, and I have been prepping for this for about two years, before I finally took the decision. So I thought I was really prepared! I have been doing online research about the operation, the complications, side effects etc. I have been talking to people who have had the operation, and I have been talking to doctors .

So I thought I was ready! 

But what I wasn't ready for was the feelings the days after the surgery. I felt really blue, sad and scared! It all of the sudden occured to me, that this is a no-turning-back-decision. I can never regret it, and go back to my old life! Not that I want to. But my old life was my comfort zone.. and the first few days I felt really sorry for myself, thinking of all the things I can never eat again. Instead of thinking about ALL the wonderful things I can do when I lose weight!! 

I can go into any shop and buy pants

I dont have to be afraid that a chair will break under me

I dont have to be insecure when meeting new people

I can go diving

I can start running!

I can go skydiving!

...and most importantly: I can smile. Really smile without any worries about what people think of my weight.

Really - the sky is the limit!! And my old life - was not good for me. But I had to mourn about it, and it took nothing for me to start crying. Im still not happy-go-lucky - but it gets better each day! Sometimes I still get scared if I will regret the decision - and if I will feel like this forever. 

But hopefully, I will feel better.

I think you'll be fine. You are starting a new chapter in your life! Embrace it!