PhillyDonna

Desperate already at 2.5 weeks post surgery

Hi,

Total newbie here, but I heard about this as a good forum & resource. I am about 2.5 weeks post surgery (full bypass) and I think I've done well with recovery so far: have been getting up & around. But I am SO SICK of the liquid diet! I just want real food! Not a lot, just something that's not baby food (I figured that was closer to real food). I had a SF pudding last week and had my first experience with dumping. Which quite frankly, ticked me off! I could understand having that punishment if I ate something "bad" but that was on the list of 'safe' foods. I just want a piece of sushi!!!

Am I the only one feeling this way? Veterans: any advice?

My other challenges: not getting enough liquids: am reaching maybe 24 oz/day, not counting the 16 oz gf protein smoothies which I am sick of already.

Welcome to the Losers Club and this wonderful journey you have begun.  This really is a great forum.  Please just hang in there and follow your plan.  You will be onto real food before you know it - the time really does fly (my 1 year anniversary is next month).   And yes dumping sucks and you just don't know what will cause it - I had my first dumping experience the second week home with SF pudding too.  You might be like me and even SF stuff can be bad (they may be "sugar alcohol" in it.  Work on getting all of the liquids in but don't stress about it - that will happen for you too.  I was having a real problem with water - I kept throwing it up so we had to be creative (I drank skim milk for a while).