rhonderoo

Retail "Therapy"

I'm glad I found this section of the forum.  I've always been a "shopoholic", and in the past few years got my life and credit back in shape and under control.   I started noticing the closer my surgery got, the more impulsive I got when it came to spending money or buying things.

Literally, the day I came home from surgery I bought, like six jugs of protein powder.  In this time, I've spent a lot on jewelry, house hold items, etc. and it's like I'm on autopilot when I'm doing it.  And one is not enough... And I've noticed it's been excessive and building since surgery, since I can't impulsively eat as much.  It's like the food addiction has been transferred over to spending. 

I've transferred food addiction to shopping addiction, although they both have been intermingled for most of my adult life - in fact, it may be more about impulse control.  I grew up poor, and never got things "just because".  When I graduated and got a good job I found it easy to buy things and did.   After ruining my credit and my first marriage, I made myself do some tough things and got my spending under control and fixed my credit and even bought a house, and am remarried.    

I'm making an appt to talk to the counselor I had to see for my surgery to get this under control before it becomes worse.  So far, I haven't spent that much (relatively speaking), but have run up a couple of cards more than I should.  

This is not uncommon. I've got a touch of it too, only I use debit rather than credit, best invention ever! The only things I buy on credit are cars and houses, which is very infrequent.

I started getting into the same issue, too. Even recently, though it's stuff that we've needed, but didn't need asap. I'm trying to keep that under control, but it's certainly hard.

Me too!   I'm a bulk buyer -- if one is good, then 3 is better....... it's usually stuff I need (like vitamins), but if it's on sale or clearance, watch out, I've purchased the lot!