Mr. Natural

CPAP machines

Hoping to have the surgery January or February. (bypass)

Anyone have luck ditching their CPAP machine after you'd dropped enough weight?

My doc told me i would probably be able to eventually....

I know some people can get rid of them.

I took mine back right after surgery,  i hated the thing

I don't care if I need to use my CPAP after surgery, that's the least of my worries. Some people no longer need them after losing weight, but others are not so lucky. Good luck!

I had to cut the pressure a lot but I still use mine. if I don't think I need it after I drop another 80 lbs. I will get another sleep study.

While I am not a doctor and only occasionally play one on TV, I tweak equipment like that all the time.

I stopped using mine three months after surgery. My wife tells me that I no longer snore. I hated the blasted thing, but I had to compliant with it in order to have my surgery. I wound up spending about $500 on it--best $500 I ever spent. It is now gathering dust in the closet. What do you do with the thing when you no longer need (or want) it? Someone asked me if they could have it and my first reaction was yes and then I thought that maybe someone who hasn't done a sleep study shouldn't just start using one. Does anyone know if that is OK?

They should have a sleep study before using the machine. The study will alert their doctor to potential problems stemming from sleep apnea such as heart damage and will also determine the correct setting for the machine.  Mine has a tracking chip so they can download information about my sleep patterns and spot issues.

Hopefully a new user will also get proper instruction in how to use the machine properly and why it is important to be compliant.