mrsblues

What to tell the students.....

11 posts in this topic

I work in a school assisting in all grade levels (2-5). I am able to take 4 weeks off because of the upcoming Christmas break. We are struggling with what to tell the students without giving them too much information. Any suggestions?

The staff where I work has been informed of the surgery (to avoid rumors). I have been honest and explain to those that inquire exactly what life will be like for me post-op. it's important for them to know because they need to understand that what I do after surgery is going to be my new normal. Of course, instead of being supportive, the comments being made are "stinging." They've said, "Are you crazy? How can you possibly do that for the rest of your life! There's no way that I could do that, I like food too much, I'd rather eat." Since I am not in the morbidly obese category they don't even feel it's necessary. Even though they know that the surgery it is being done more for my health, they still think I'm nuts. My immediate family is supportive as hell, but I don't feel like I'll be getting any support from the co-workers, once I return to work. It's hard because you are with co-workers more than your family during the work day. I've already decided that eating elsewhere will not be a bad idea. Anyone else with this issue? Any advice how to handle?

Diabetes-related diseases took the lives of all family members on my side, up to and including my mother and all her siblings. We also have a family history of pancreatic cancer. I was diagnosed with diabetes seven years ago, and slowly it is causing the same patterns of diseases that took my family from me. I have a choice and this is what I've chosen.