• Announcements

• John

Community Guidelines   09/15/2015

A reminder that we have a general set of guidelines that are available at http://www.thinnertimesforum.com/guidelines/. If you have any questions or concerns, you may express them to me or a Community Leader directly. Thank you,
      John Callery
Groovey kinda Love

Skin Donation For Burn Victims

28 posts in this topic

A friend of mine mentioned the other day that she heard that people who have had the wls and have skin removed can donate it to burn victims. Has anyone here heard of this before? Is it something I should bring to my surgeons attention and see what he says? I am allllllllllll for giving anyone my lose skin that wants it:D seriously!:D

Well Miss Susie, I've been a Burn nurse, in a major Michigan Burn Center, for 30 years. The only skin we use besides the patient's own skin would be cadaver skin. We used to use pigskin but now it is only cadaver and that is only a temporary covering. The body will eventually reject any skin that isn't it's own. I highly doubt as a wls patient we could donate our skin. It just wouldn't be enough to be practical plus the skin that we use in our Burn Center is a very thin layer of skin. It just would be far too costly to use skin from a living individual. Nice thought but I doubt it's true. I think I would know about it if it was.

I did a little hunting and I strongly suspect this is an urban myth. Found some information from the Michigan Skin Bank that makes perfect sense. I know I've dealt with them before when family members have asked about donating the skin of their loved ones that have died and it is a very reputable institution who knows what they are talking about.

http://www.transweb.org/reference/articles/donation/excess_skin_donation.html

I've heard talk of a surgeon here that will do PS for free if you donate the skin..I haven't confirmed if it's true or not. I'll let you know if I ever find such a person! :D