bellamoma

new beginnings :)

so if you've been around a while you might remember that i've kind of been having a career crisis.  i've been a nurse for 16 years, was a social worker before that. although i'll never regret getting my RN, i really wanted to change careers.  ever since i was little, i loved doing hair. i have cut people's hair since i was 13.  i even ran into someone who used to date my BFF and he was like, you used to cut my hair (25 years ago!)

i love everything about beauty- skincare, makeup, hair, fashion.  i always have. The problem was i guess the stigma that comes along with the industry, which is thankfully changing.  "Beauty school" was for the girls who couldn't get into college.  then, of course, when i gained a bunch of weight, i didn't have the confidence to put myself out there as a stylist. 

Losing my weight hasn't changed me at all- it has allowed me to really be who i was under layers of fluff. i am much more confident now. I know that not only can i physically handle the job of the stylist, but i can emotionally handle it. I finally had enough confidence to say i don't care what people think, i'm going to do it and change people's minds.  they're going to see that you can be smart and savvy and make good money doing what you love.  i finally feel good enough to follow my heart. 

so this past tuesday, i started cosmetology school! i am super excited about it and hope to take you all along on my ride as I switch lanes at age 46! I'm determined to turn the industry on its ear. just you wait! :)

Oh! And if anyone in the field has advice for me, I totally welcome it!

here's me on my first day. we have to wear head to toe black. Bummer!

IMG_3400.JPG