Tmilian

Hiya! I'm a newbie!

Hello, I am going to a free seminar in January since my new insurance is active then and now includes the surgery.

I have already spoke with them and they do require: "At least one attempt must occur during the one year prior to request for surgery or date of surgery. Documentation must support participation in the program for six consecutive months."

In anticipation of this rule, I have gone ahead and scheduled a appt. with my for December, I am wondering if December will go towards that 6 month count even though my new insurance is not active yet?                :D

THANK YOU!

3 hours ago, Tmilian said:

Hello, I am going to a free seminar in January since my new insurance is active then and now includes the surgery.

I have already spoke with them and they do require: "At least one attempt must occur during the one year prior to request for surgery or date of surgery. Documentation must support participation in the program for six consecutive months."

In anticipation of this rule, I have gone ahead and scheduled a appt. with my for December, I am wondering if December will go towards that 6 month count even though my new insurance is not active yet?                :D

THANK YOU!

Almost certainly. The requirement is to have had the attempt x 6 months, not that you have the attempt while covered by the current insurance. This comes out of a Society of Bariatric medicine position paper that I think is 4 or 5 years old - Just make sure everything including dates, weigh-ins, etc are well documented.