tjs1987

Post Surgery Plateau

Hi there! This is my first time posting so please forgive me if this is a silly question!

I had gastric bypass 4 weeks ago tomorrow and while I've had a great recovery and no complications as of yet, I've been plateauing already for the last two weeks! 

The first two weeks after surgery I dropped 22 lbs, and the last two weeks I've been kind of teetering on two lbs up and down but never really losing anything more.

My surgeons office said this is normal but I'd kind of love to hear others experiences with it. I know my body is probably in a state of shock right now as I'm still on my soft foods diet, and I know 22lbs down is great, but man what a mind game this is already!

Welcome! As long as you're following your program, don't worry about it. You're normal. Try to weigh yourself less frequently this early out. Search the word "stall" here, and you'll find lots of people having short breaks in their weight loss who go on to reach their goal weights just fine. Your body is healing. If you're following your program, the weight loss will come.

Edited by Gretta

Hang in there. 22 lbs is a lot for anyone in a month, let alone 2 weeks. Some of us have had stalls in the first month too. Just adhere to your plan, it works!

Post your intakes here if you want people to comment or give their two cents... remembering this REALLY is a head game. 

You guys are great, thank you! So far I’ve really only had soup, cottage cheese, bananas, scrambled eggs, zucchini, string cheese and some soft potato pieces. Maybe 600 calories a day at the very very most! I’ll keep trying to be patient. 

Thats good to know that they’re called “stalls”. I will look it up. Like I said I expected it, just not so soon. 

15 hours ago, tjs1987 said: