dancetrip

Approved for surgery

Hi all, I just received my letter from my insurance company saying I’ve been approved for sleeve surgery.  I’ve completed all my appointments so I’m getting getting very nervous about taking the next step.  

This time of year is going to be so difficult with the holidays coming up, do you recommend me waiting till after the first of the year or maybe right after Christmas if I can get a date?  It will be so hard to do over it over holidays and with family gatherings.  I’d appreciate any and all thoughts.

By the way I just joined this forum this morning so I’m a newbie!  Thank you!

Welcome to Thinner Times!

Personally, I'd continue with your journey. 

In my world, there was always some festivity or celebration coming up so it's something to talk through with your surgeon and of course, what his/her schedule is like over the Christmas season.

I would strongly recommend that you not delay your surgery. I had my weight loss surgery in mid-November and it worked out great for me. Thanksgiving and holiday parties became more about seeing friends and family, and less about food - plus by New Years Eve I was almost thirty pounds lighter! :)

In addition with all the health care insurance reform uncertainty in Washington, any delay could be a major mistake in that health care reform could result in your surgery approval being revoked (or the co-pays going way up).

We are here to support and inform you on your weight loss surgery journey!

Congrats and welcome! Do what's best for you, but I wouldn't delay!