Chessboard

Alcohol habit and band surgery - please help

21 posts in this topic

Hi I am a professional woman- I have a full on career which is very stressful. I come hone and drink 2-3 glasses of wine each night. I am seriously considering band surgery and have made a consultation appointment. My questions are- 

Can anyone else identify with my situation and advise me? 

Is my liver likely to be affected to such an extent that my surgery would be aborted (I am young and have no signs of liver function decline)

I very much feel at a crossroad in my life and know my health will suffer if I continue as I am. I am hoping that surgery and the associated diet will bring about a side effect of also controlling my alcohol intake. I know part of why I drink is to forget my self loathing about my weight... hope to hear from you and please be gentle in your responses x 

10 minutes ago, Chessboard said:

Hi I am a professional woman- I have a full on career which is very stressful. I come hone and drink 2-3 glasses of wine each night. I am seriously considering band surgery and have made a consultation appointment. My questions are- 

Can anyone else identify with my situation and advise me? 

Is my liver likely to be affected to such an extent that my surgery would be aborted (I am young and have no signs of liver function decline)

I very much feel at a crossroad in my life and know my health will suffer if I continue as I am. I am hoping that surgery and the associated diet will bring about a side effect of also controlling my alcohol intake. I know part of why I drink is to forget my self loathing about my weight... hope to hear from you and please be gentle in your responses x 

How overweight are you at the moment, what's your height and weight?  Do you have diabetes at all?