Mpierce

Clothes- when to move on

32 posts in this topic

I am 2 weeks post-op and down 48 lbs total since I started pre-op monitoring. I am accumulating quite a bit of clothing that ranges from baggy to just too big. At what point did you start getting rid of clothing?  How often do you change out. I am afraid to buy new stuff that won't last long but I'm a teacher and will be going to work soon. I have to have fairly professional clothing. Any choices that have lasted longer for you?  I.e.: things you could wear a bit big?  

Trish13 and Stephtay like this

If they're too big now then my advice is to get rid of them (thrift store etc. or a friend) so that you can make room for the smaller sizes that you are going to need down the road.

I'm quite handy with the sewing machine and I was able to make a few bits smaller just by running a stitch up the side seams but that does little when it comes to shoulders etc. but I got a month extra out of them.

I've never been a dress person but a non-WLS friend has lost a good bit of weight by calorie counting (for the umpteenth time) and she has some nice belts that look good on some of her dresses so she gets a little longer wear out of them.

LeeC, Jen581791 and Stephtay like this

Hi @Mpierce, I'm a teacher, too, so I hear you on the back to school shopping. 

I'm getting a lot of mileage out of loose-ish cotton knit (like T-shirt material) dresses with long sweater things over the top. 

Examples (Old Navy is cheap enough that I don't have to sweat wearing this stuff for only a few months):

http://oldnavy.gap.com/browse/product.do?cid=1074774&pcid=7322&vid=8&pid=519045012

http://oldnavy.gap.com/browse/product.do?cid=96020&pcid=96016&vid=8&pid=808772022

You've already made so much progress! Good for you :) 

Stephtay likes this