Smashlee83

Cleared for food... now what?!?

12 posts in this topic

Had my 3 week post up check in yesterday. All healed up, down 26lbs and have the all clear to eat what I want.

The Dr. said that I should be eating my protein over drinking it and the shakes need to be for emergencies only. I thought I'd be excited about that, but shakes made up 40 grams of protein out of my 60 needed per day. Now what? I've eaten high protein food 5 times so far today and I'm only at 35grams.

Halp!

I don't eat meat so it was harder for me to get my protein without supplements. At 3.5 years out I still have at least one shake a day. I also eat/ate a lot of greek yogurt, egg whites, cheese (glorious cheese!) and nuts. Too early for you to eat nuts. Somewhere Jolls posted a list of what to eat and when. I'm not good at finding old threads here. So if you can't find it, I imagine someone else can.

Congrats on your weight loss! You are doing GREAT!

Jen581791, Trish1967, Carina and 1 other like this

I still do one protein shake a day.  I also carry protein bars.  

Start out gentle; don't go for grilled chicken or a hamburger right away.  Have you done chili, cottage cheese, refried beans?  

NerdyLady, LeeC and Trish1967 like this

I'm 3 years out and my breakfast is a protein shake. It's not because I have trouble hitting my daily protein goal...it's because I think they are tasty and they keep me satisfied until lunch. Plus, you can't beat 30g of protein. Yes, I've heard it's better to eat your protein instead of drinking it, but it's not bad if you continue to have shakes daily.

I ended up drinking a 1/2 shake to make up my protein difference last night. Good to know that you guys are years out and successful and still have protein shakes! Now to just get in all of this water!

And thank you @Cheesehead for the chili idea. I think some green chicken chili is going to be on the menu for the weekend.