adshabrack

Insurance denial for revision from lapband to sleeve

6 posts in this topic

I have been fighting my insurance company for 3 months now over my revision. I had lapband in 2008, and lost 80lbs in 6 months. However, my weight loss stopped there, and I have regained 40lbs (which fluctuates), and my surgeon recommended having a revision. My endocrinologist also recommended it since the initial surgery was done to alleviate issues/complications with my type 2 diabetes, for which I am now taking 5 medications for, including a TON of insulin each day.  The insurance is saying that since there is no device failure, then they should not have to approve an additional procedure and that it's not medically necessary.  However, their definition of medically necessary is to improve or treat a disease that affects the overall health and life span of the patient.  I also have developed sleep apnea and arthritis in my knees since the first surgery. I have appealed twice, and they are still saying no.  What can I do to convince them that this is medically necessary???

As an attorney, my instinct is to tell you to consult with an attorney and to have that person send the insurance company a nasty letter demanding coverage for your surgery.  

Aussie H and adshabrack like this

Do you pray? If so, I highly recommend it. Prayer moves mountains.  That and whatever you can through legal channels.

Wishing you the best. Please keep us posted.

Edited by ShrinkingViolet2
Molinam likes this