Kblock108

Almost 5 months post op update

Hello everyone, I have not done an update since probably the week after my surgery and wanted to give an update. I started out my journey at 266 and as of today I weight 184. Although 190 was my initial goal, I am now shooting for 175. Although I recently started lifting weights, not sure where I will end up...but overall I am happy. There are still nights that I think about the changes I made to my body by having RNY and it keeps me up...I don't like what I did for a second, But I like who I have become. Eating has become easy, although many times I still prefer a protein shake over solids. I still on occasion, feel sick and have thrown up maybe 3 times after eating some undesireable foods. My energy level has sky rocketed and my sleep apnea has gone away. I find myself waking up at 6 am without an alarm clock, so I just roll with it now...and that's my workout time. I take my vitamins religiously, and I have recently got a Perscription for 1 ml a week of b12 injections. I got it filled at cvs and inject myself once a week, I feel great! 

One thing I did not anticipate, are those that do not know what I did (I only told two people, my wife and my dad) asking or commenting that my diet is not healthy. Mind u I take in about 120-150 grams of protein, lift weights 4 days a week and do cardio 5-6. I even have the occasional sweets or my favorite, fudge icicle or 50/50 bars. My biggest weakness I had to give up because of dumping and that is ice cream...man I used to be able to put down a whole container in a night. Some people have mentioned my diet is extreme, others ask if I have cancer...but I know what is happening to my body is a result of what I had done...

i hope everyone else on this journey is having a blessed time and if anyone has any questions, feel free to ask away! Take care

Thank you for posting this update. I also had to give up ice cream and I don't miss it all now. :)