modesta96

What should I tell my teachers?

16 posts in this topic

I am a college student and idk what to tell my teachers, if anything. I plan on being out for a week before going back should I tell them about the surgery?

Tell them what you are comfortable with, no more and no less.  It is up to you, they do not have to know the details of what you'e doing.  If you have to tell them something just say you are going to be out for a surgical procedure and leave it at that.

I agree with PapaG.  Very personal decision on what you share. I shared with a good handful of my coworkers and immediate family as they also knew I had significant stomach issues and support was great. Didn't and still do not on FB.

Some are really proud and are an openbook, other's keep the journey to themselves. Both are okay. The second you share it is out there for discussion.

Are you only taking a week off after surgery? I know being in school really makes it tricky.  Be careful and aware your stamina my be really low. Kind of like jet lag. 

modesta96 likes this

Tell them what you are comfortable with, no more and no less.  It is up to you, they do not have to know the details of what you'e doing.  If you have to tell them something just say you are going to be out for a surgical procedure and leave it at that.

I just hope they do not start digging... I am not a good lair lol

I agree with PapaG.  Very personal decision on what you share. I shared with a good handful of my coworkers and immediate family as they also knew I had significant stomach issues and support was great. Didn't and still do not on FB.

Some are really proud and are an openbook, other's keep the journey to themselves. Both are okay. The second you share it is out there for discussion.

Are you only taking a week off after surgery? I know being in school really makes it tricky.  Be careful and aware your stamina my be really low. Kind of like jet lag.